Humour of Politics

I don’t spend much time (what relatively little there’s been so far) on this blog commenting about political issues. I don’t refrain for any reason because most times I do have a lot to say, but it’s very much a topic I talk about in my daily life. Sometimes I like a break.

I hope you wouldn’t mind if I remarked something one might find controversial, but I find a bit funny. On the radio and on the evening news you’ll often see interviewed, young, University-aged students about their opinions on what this and that, he and she are doing at Parliament and so on. Most times they’ll have one of these very profound, knowledgeable faces and points of criticism when they talk about certain aspects of our grand legislature.

Yet when they’re asked about voting, a good few make it clear that they “did not vote” in the last election, but they aren’t happy with the (insert name of a member of the Parliament.)

Neglecting to vote is excluding yourself from the democratic process, and that is a somewhat fair thing to say.

I understand that perhaps, it would do moral harm to cast your vote when the only options are for those who promote immoral viewpoints and behaviours; abortion or maybe an uncertain affiliation. I can’t imagine how unfair a situation like that would be, and in the end politics, while important, is not the main goal of my life and I wouldn’t think anyone else.

Render unto Caesar, that which belongs to Caesar; unto God what is God’s.

I think it’s important, as Catholics, to be uncompromising on the sanctity of life and the family. That is important in this day and age.

Leave a Reply

