Religious Opinion

Last night I was graced with the presence of some of the most highly renowned 17-16 year old intellectuals on the island. My good friend and myself were camping with them, and when got everything around the fire so we could roast a decent marshmallow without cremation, the religious opinions broke out: peacefully, but in the way that the lark in the morning sweeps up the worm by surprise.

Of course this little gathering was not unlike the congregation of the finest educated minds at a pub near the finest and superior universities, so they thought, and their speech was that of foreign “grandiosity” (if I could use that instead of pretentious).

It’s hard for me to, in all honesty, take them seriously when they get at it because there’s just so much hot air that a boiler would push itself off the stove in embarrassment. It didn’t get steamy, but I found it a great insight, on my part, into the mind of he that aligneth himself not. Religion is useless, harmful, a dangerous corruption of civilisation. The very civilisation that is threatened by our religiosity, is one that was built and reared on the rock that is faith in Christ.

As it goes now, Christ is endangering the common good of the common man, in his common home and his common thought. I feel bad and angry at myself because I didn’t speak up. I couldn’t honestly take what they were saying, as something they were serious about. I had a hard time trying to understand if they were joking, or saying it just to see if I’d react? I wasn’t sure. I don’t really care, in all honesty, because you’ve got to base your reactions upon the character of each person. We all want an honest conversation, and we all know we’re right. Don’t go clawing and screaming at someone as if they were a wooden head with a mouth.

But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you. Gospel of St Matthew 5:44

If our aim is to be Christlike in all our actions, then who can we look to but Christ himself? He is our Master and our King. To imitate him is the greatest of all struggles because we have that pride and self-righteous idea that we are somehow better than all that breathes and God only knows how many days I’ve woken up with that attitude: Huff-puff, I know better, no one is greater than me. These are the days I need a good friend with a good rugby ball to smack me over the head. To match the logician, we’ve got to use our God-given logic. Pray, pray, pray. There’s no greater thing than prayer. This is more of a reminder to myself I’d say, than to back up what I’m saying.

When a friend upsets us, forgive him, but help correct him as well. Don’t get defensive. Say that “you understand why he thinks that because it’s certainly what it looks like, however, consider this (fill in the blank).” If I was a devout soul, I would frequent the sacraments much more than I do now. I’d say many more Rosaries than I do now. I’d walk the way of the Cross, the Via Dolorosa, much more than just at the beginning of Lent. Our good behaviour, our manners and inner peace depends on the faith we have and in our willingness to cooperate in divine providence and in God’s will. I’m ashamed at how many times I’ve sat by and let those who are genuinely ignorant of the truth in the Church because all they’ve been exposed to is the media’s perception and outlook, and let them criticise what they don’t really understand. Just the same can be said about me, when I sit and type a criticism of those who believe what they do. I certainly don’t know what they’ve been exposed to on television, the internet, radio, in school; and that is why our prayers make all the difference.

The world is unkind to any Christian. We have no spiritual weaponry ready at hand, but if we frequently met Christ at the fortress of forgiveness, the door to the confessional, and we poured our hearts out knowing that there is a forgiving and loving God always at our side, if we received Him in the Holy Eucharist, and adored His very flesh with a devout and pious spirit? Our words would flow as smooth as honey, sweet as the dew, never without the guidance of Our Lord and His Blessed Mother. Our heart would achieve it’s peace, and the burden of our cross would be as if the wood hollowed out. 

O Christian Soul, hold onto Holy Mother Church, and make use of her great traditions. Earth will survive us, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

