Our Lady’s Glory

A prayer today.

Chosen before the Earth's fruition to bear the divinity, and to become the Mother of God, the new Eve, co-redemptrix, and the help of the helpless. Oh Blessed Mary, Our Lady, image of purity and perfection: Pray for Us!

Chosen before the Earth’s fruition to bear the divinity, and to become the Mother of God, the new Eve, co-redemptrix, and the help of the helpless. Oh Blessed Mary, Our Lady, image of purity and perfection: Pray for Us!

O chaste and spotless Virgin! O Lady never touched by blame, corruption, or defilement! O Bride of Christ! You gave birth to the Word of God in a glorious and mysterious way, uniting Him to mankind and linking our apostate nature to the divine. You are the only hope, the prompt help of every Christian who seeks your refuge. Though I have often defiled myself with all sorts of impurities, words, deeds, or thoughts, though slothfulness has enslaved me to lust, though I often find myself weighed down by despair and depression, do not despise me. Rather, since you are the Mother of God and full of love for us, in your compassion pity me, prodigal sinner that I am, and accept this prayer which I offer to you with these impure lips.

With boldness that only a mother could manifest, beg your Son, our Lord and Master, to open to me His deep and tender loving mercy. Entreat Him to disregard my numberless sins. Ask Him to lead me to repentance, so that I may become His friend and follower, always conscious of His commandments and ready to observe them. In your compassion, stay with me always, you who are so tender of heart! In this life, ever intercede for me fervently, ever be at my side to repel the onslaughts of my enemies, ever ready to lead me to salvation. At the moment of my death, embrace my sorry soul, and drive off the sinister forms of the evil spirits.

On that awesome day of judgment, rescue me from eternal torment, and reveal me as an heir of that indescribable glory of your Son. O my Lady, O holy Mother of God! May I deserve this through your intercession and mediation, through the grace and love for mankind of your holy Son, our Lord, God, and Saviour, Jesus Christ, who deserves all glory, honour and worship, with His eternal Father, and His all-holy Spirit, now and forever, and ever. Amen.

O Lady, why are they multiplied who afflict me? By thy might thou shalt
follow them and scatter them.

Loose the bands of our impiety: take away the burden of our sins. Have
mercy on me, O Lady, and heal my sickness: take away the grief and anguish
of my heart.

Deliver me not into the hands of my enemies: and in the day of my death
strengthen thou my soul.

Lead me into the harbour of salvation: and give up for me my spirit to my
Maker and Creator. Psalm 3, the Psalter of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Leave a Reply

