I will give you rest…

Matthew 11:25-30
At that time Jesus declared, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children; yes, Father, for such was your gracious will. All things have been handed over to me by my Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son chooses to reveal him. Come to me, all who labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

I will give you rest. Remember the strife of our lives, remember the strife of those whom we love. Amidst persecution, martyrdoms under Islam, and the growing repression of the traditions of the church, we have a saviour.

I heard the voice of Jesus say,
“Come unto me and rest;
lay down, O weary one, lay down
your head upon my breast.”
I came to Jesus as I was,
so weary, worn, and sad;
I found him in a resting place,
and he has made me glad.

This beautiful hymn is our processional for Mass tomorrow morning, and because the rector is on holiday we will be joined by another priest of the diocese who is known for his orthodoxy. I await his sermon with joy, and to receive the body of my Lord and saviour; to lay my head upon His breast. To offer up and consecrate my sufferings for the Holy Souls in Purgatory, and to pray for you all and my friends. Keep hope! The Immaculate Heart is beating for you!

Leave a Reply

